Christian Living

The Heart of a Servant

Jesus_washing_Peter's_feet
Rep. of “Jesus Washing Peter’s Feet” by Ford Madox Brown (1829-1893) ,  [[PD-US]]

Now that I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also should wash one another’s feet. I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you.  John 13:14-15, NIV

When I was young, my walls were literally covered from floor to ceiling with pictures and posters of the people I wanted to be like; mainly they featured rock stars with their heavy makeup, torn up jeans, and grungy guitars. As the years progressed, I began to take the posters down.

My grandmother is one of the most humble and beautiful people I know. She spent the duration of her lifetime serving her husband, her children, and all the rest of her family. Even now, in her much older years, despite aches and pains, no one can stop her from going into the kitchen and cooking incredible spreads of food for everyone.

Many years ago, she took in her mother in law, my great grandmother, and took care of her every day. You see, my great grandmother had Alzheimer’s disease for a very long time and towards the end she was completely incapacitated.

I remember walking into Grandma’s kitchen one day, and I found my grandmother at the kitchen table lovingly painting Great Grandma’s nails. I remember the polish was the prettiest shade of pearly pink. She also held her hand til the nails dried.

In my youth, I wondered why grandma would go through the trouble of painting my great grandmother’s nails, because by then Great Grandma had no way of knowing or appreciating that her nails looked nice. Now, looking back on that moment, I realize that my grandmother painted my great grandma’s nails out of love, pure and simple.

No, my grandma is not a famous rock star. She never did anything that monumental by the world’s definition. She won’t be written in the history books. Even so, every time I see her, I see her honoring Jesus, the greatest name written upon history. When I look at her, I think of Jesus when he knelt down and washed His disciple’s feet.

The truth is that at the end of the day God values the servant’s heart. Someone who will wash another person’s hair when they are sick. Someone who will carry an elderly person to the bathroom. Someone that humbly completes duties, whether they are large or small, with pure love in their heart for God and others. That is the type of person I hope to be now.

 

Prayer: Lord, help us to follow after your son’s example and teach us to have a servant’s heart. Guide us as we learn to love and help one another for your glory. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

8 thoughts on “The Heart of a Servant

  1. We often overlook the generosity and kindness from our elders, or at least I know I do. Both of my grandmothers are alive and they are such Godly women, it’s so inspiring to me! They love to serve their children and grandchildren and it sets such a perfect example for me as a woman. Your post was very eye opening to me, thank you for sharing!

    Lindsey

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Love this! I think that so often we think that in order to do big things for God, we have to do the “limelight” stuff. When in God’s economy, it’s about the background positions, having a spirit of humility, being a servant. Choosing to be last and letting others go first. What a beautiful word for me today! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is beautifully written, Kristen 🙌🙌!! Your grandmother seems like someone I would have loved to meet…such a wonderful example of godly servanthood to follow.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

